University College Advising Center

What is an Academic Advisor? Glennen and Vowell (1995) define advisors as "student advocates whose primary function is to serve students and provide them with the best information to assist them in making academic decisions." Gordon (1992) describes the functions of academic advising as providing academic information (institutional regulations and procedures, etc.), academic counseling, career counseling, and addressing personal and social concerns.

Your Advisor will help you focus on class selection, but can also help you with much more. He/she can offer strategies to help you succeed in your classes, assist you with issues in your academic and personal life, and suggest options to help you meet your goals. In short, your Advisor can facilitate your entire experience at MTSU.


Listing of Undeclared Advisors, caseload last name letters, and email addresses

Undeclared Advising Center

Keathley University Center room 322

M-F 7:30 am to 5:30 pm

(615) 898-5209

The Advisors listed below advise all students who are listed as Undeclared Majors. Students are assigned to Advisors based on last name. Click on your Advisors name to learn more about them or click on their email address to send them a message.

Students with
Last Name
Advisor's Name Email Address
A - C
 Eric Miller  EricB.Miller@mtsu.edu
D-H Shelia Withers Shelia.Withers@mtsu.edu
I-P Dr. Carla Hatfield Carla.Hatfield@mtsu.edu
Q-R Dr. Mark Templeton Mark.Templeton@mtsu.edu
S-Z Rebecca Garrett  Rebecca.Garrett@mtsu.edu 

 

  Other UAC Staff 

Dr. Mark Templeton
Director
Mark.Templeton@mtsu.edu
Sarah Standridge
Secretary
Sarah.Standridge@mtsu.edu


 


 

General information about College and Faculty Advisors

Academic assistance is also provided in each of the undergraduate colleges by College Advisors. The College Advisors are great resources for very specific major information. Students not fitting into our caseload (listed above) or not yet assigned to a Faculty Advisor, should seek advising from their College Advisor as listed below. 

College of Basic and Applied Sciences  

A - L Jennifer Danylo Jennifer.Danylo@mtsu.edu  Jones Hall 119 (615) 494-7874
M - Z Travis Tipton Travis.Tipton@mtsu.edu  Jones Hall 117 (615) 898-5087
  Susanna Wassom Susanna.Wassom@mtsu.edu Keathley University Center 316 (615) 898-2672
Pre-Professional Jennifer Hendrix Jennifer.Hendrix@mtsu.edu Keathley University Center 316 (615) 898-5465
 Aerospace Andrew Symonds Andrew.Symonds@mtsu.edu  BAS S236 (615) 898-2055


Jones College of Business

The Jones College of Business Advising Office is located in BAS N219
Phone: (615) 898-2764

Paula Calahan Paula.Calahan@mtsu.edu
Abby Davis Abby.Davis@mtsu.edu
Amie Donahue Amie.Donahue@mtsu.edu
Gretchen Leming Gretchen.Leming@mtsu.edu
Brandie Nelson Brandie.Nelson@mtsu.edu
Meredith Young Meredith.Young@mtsu.edu


College of Education

June Adams (First Semester Transfer Students) June.Adams@mtsu.edu COE 307 (615) 898-5153
Jim Rost (Transfer and Re-Enrolling Students) Jim.Rost@mtsu.edu COE 315 (615) 898-5481
Danielle Stefanski (Pre-Candidacy Freshman) Danielle.Stefanski@mtsu.edu COE 313 (615) 494-8969


College of Behavioral and Health Sciences

Helen Gleason (Nursing) Helen.Gleason@mtsu.edu CKNB 247B (615) 494-8791
Joan Howell (RN/LPN to BSN) Joan.Howell@mtsu.edu CKNB 224 (615) 898-5252
Brelinda Johnson Brelinda.Johnson@mtsu.edu CKNB N251 (615) 898-5086
 Melissa Towe (Pre Nursing) Melissa.Towe@mtsu.edu   CKNB 218  


College of Liberal Arts

A - L  Sonja Burk Sonja.Burk@mtsu.edu Todd 221-A (615) 898-5089
M - Z Dr. Lucy Langworthy Lucy.Langworthy@mtsu.edu Todd 221-B (615) 494-7785
  Jeanne' Hoechst Jeanne.Hoechst@mtsu.edu  TODD 223  
  Keri Carter Keri.Carter@mtsu.edu TODD 223 (615) 904-8567


College of Mass Communication

Pre Candidacy M-Z Gia Jones Gia.Jones@mtsu.edu COMM 233 (615) 494-7711
Pre Candidacy A-L Nancy Stubblefield Nancy.Stubblefield@mtsu.edu COE 342 (615) 494-7710
EMC & JOUR Majors Hattie Traylor Hattie.Traylor@mtsu.edu COMM 238-A (615) 898-5668
  Lucille Wilcox Lucille.Wilcox@mtsu.edu COE 344 (615) 898-5499
 RIM Majors Olivia Young Olivia.Young@mtsu.edu COMM 238-B (615) 898-5945


Honors College

Laura Clippard (Sophomores and Transfers) Laura.Clippard@mtsu.edu Honors 227 (615) 898-5464
April Goers (Freshmen) April.Goers@mtsu.edu Honors 228 (615) 494-7767 


University College (RODP Majors & University Studies)

A - G Matt Hannah Matt.Hannah@mtsu.edu 855 W. College Street (615) 898-3593
 H - M Megan Russell Megan.Russell@mtsu.edu 855 W. College Street (615) 898-5200
 N - Z Byron Lightsy Byron.Lightsy@mtsu.edu 855 W. College Street (615) 904-8398
 PLA Students Rebecca Richey Rebecca.Richey@mtsu.edu 855 W. College Street (615) 898-5230

 

Once you complete all pre-major requirements, you will be assigned a faculty advisor. This faculty member will work with you in your major to make sure you are on track with course selection, specific major requirements, and additional opportunities. Be sure to utilize your advisor to the fullest; they can help you make the most of your time at MTSU.