Chinese Language Test 

HSK (Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi ) Test

HSK is a standardized test for assessing Chinese language proficiency for non-native speakers. According to the proficiency standard, the written HSK is divided into six levels - HSK Level I through HSK Level VI. Oral HSK test has three levels: beginning, intermediate, and advanced. Certificates of HSK proficiency will be issued to those who have achieved the required scores.

The categories of the test form a comprehensive testing system, ranging from beginning to advanced level. As a test of general language proficiency, HSK is not based on any particular textbook or course of study. Therefore candidates may refer to a range of textbooks in preparing for the test.

The HSK serves

  • as one of the most important criteria for students applying for the full scholarship for study in China.
  • to certify that the holder has achieved the required Chinese language proficiency to enter a Chinese college or university as an undergraduate or graduate student.
  • to certify that the holder can be exempt from studying Chinese courses at certain levels at some Chinese universities.
  • as a basis for employment in some institutions to evaluate the Chinese proficiency of their employees.

Candidates can read the requirements of each level and take a sample test.

CIMTSU is one of the designated institutes to host the Chinese Proficiency Test (HSK ) and provide related services in preparing and administrating the test. For more information, come by our office in Peck Hall, Room 106 or visit the official HSK siteor call 615-494-8696, or send an email to

Click here to register for the test.



Confucius Institute
P.O. Box 114
106 Peck Hall

Middle Tennessee State University
Murfreesboro, TN 37132
Phone: 615-494-8696