Search Area
  • Forensic Institute for Research and Education

FIRE Advisory Boards


External Board

The External Advisory Board identify areas where cooperation or partnering may be mutually beneficial and ways FIRE can serve their specific agency's needs, as well as the general needs of law enforcement, forensic science, and homeland security. Members include:

  • Glenn N. (Andy) Anderson, Special Agent in Charge, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives
  • Robert F. Arnold, Sheriff, Rutherford County Sheriff's Office
  • William M. Bass, PhD, Forensic Anthropologist
  • Mike Bottoms, District Attorney General, Southeast Law Enforcement Training Seminar
  • Dr. Andy Brown, Vice President of Medical Affairs, Middle Tennessee Medical Center
  • Glenn Chrisman, Chief of Police, Murfreesboro Police Department
  • Tom Deering, Assistant Medical Examiner, Office of the Medical Examiner
  • Nick Fielder, Liaison and Emergency Services Coordinator, Homeland Security - TEMA Operations
  • Mark Gwyn, Director, Tennessee Bureau of Investigation (TBI) 
  • Roger Hawks, Executive Director,State Fire Marshal's Office, Tennessee Fire Service and Codes Enforcement Academy (TFACA)
  • Michael J. Stanfill, Assistant Special Agent in Charge, Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA)
  • Michael P. Tabor, DDS, Forensic Odontologist

Internal Board

The Internal Advisory Board facilitate an on-campus, interdisciplinary approach. Members include: 

  • Mike Boyle, Dean, University College
  • Mark Byrnes, Dean, College of Liberal Arts
  • Becky Cole, Associate Vice President, University Provost
  • Jackie Eller, Chairperson, Sociology & Anthropology
  • Saeed Foroudastan, Associate Dean, Basic and Applied Sciences
  • Andrienne Friedli, Professor, Chemistry
  • Connie Huddleston, Coordinator, College of Liberal Arts
  • George Murphy, Professor Emeritus, Biology
  • Deborah Newman, Chairperson, Criminal Justice
  • Anthony Newsome, Professor, Biology
  • Buddy Peaster, Chief & Assistant Vice President, University Police
  • Amy Phelps, Professor, Chemistry
  • Tiffany Saul, Masters Candidate, Basic and Applied Sciences
  • Saleh Sbenaty, Professor, Engineering Technology

2016, Middle Tennessee State University, a Tennessee Board of Regents institution, 1301 East Main Street, Murfreesboro, TN 37132-0001 USA +1-615-898-2300

Middle Tennessee State University, in its educational programs and activities involving students and employees, does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, creed, ethnic or national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity/expression, disability, age (as applicable), status as a covered veteran or genetic information. For more information see Middle Tennessee State University. |  Nondiscrimination Policy