Department of Geosciences

Faculty and Staff


Dr. Jeremy AberJeremy Aber

KOM 325-E
jeremy.aber@mtsu.edu
615-898-2965

Assistant Professor of Geography - Physical Geography, Geographic Information Systems

B.F.A, 2005, Emporia State University
M.A., 2007, Kansas State University
PhD, 2012, Kansas State University


Dr. Mark Abolins

KOM 322-D
mark.abolins@mtsu.edu

615-594-4210

Associate Professor of Geosciences - Structural Geology, Geology Field Methods, Remote Sensing, GIS.

A.B.,1992, University of California, Berkeley
M.S., 1996, California Institute of Technology
Ph.D., 1999, California Institute of Technology


 

Dr. Pat Boda

KOM 325-C
pat.boda@mtsu.edu

615-898-2726

Assistant Professor of Geosciences - Geographic Information Systems, Cartography
  
B.A. 1993, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
M.A. 1995, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
PhD. 2007, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities


 

Alan Brown

KOM 325-A
alan.brown@mtsu.edu

615-898-5075

Lecturer in Geosciences -  Earth Science, Hydrogeology

B.S. Geology, 1997, Illinois State University
M.S. Hydrogeology, 2002, Illinois State University


Laura Collins

laura.collins@mtsu.edu
615-494-8635

Lecturer in Geosciences - Earth Science

Master of Science in Geosciences (Geography and Geology), Mississippi State University (MSU), Starkville, MS, May 2005
Bachelor of Science in Geology with a minor in Biology, Middle Tennessee State University (MTSU) Murfreesboro, TN, August 1998
Associate of Science in General Science, Tri-County Technical College (TCTC), Pendleton, SC, May 1994


 

 Dr. Warner Cribb, Department ChairDr. Warner Cribb

KOM 322-A
warner.cribb@mtsu.edu

615-898-2379

Professor of Geosciences - Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology, Mineralogy, Geochemistry

B.S.,1983, Vanderbilt University
M. S., 1986, George Washington University
Ph.D., 1993, THE Ohio State University 


 

Dr. Hari Garbharran

KOM 322-F
hari.garbharran@mtsu.edu

615-898-5977

Professor of Geosciences - Geography of Asia, Africa, Middle East, & Global Issues

B.A.,1976, University of Durham-Westville (South Africa)
M.A., 1981, University of Kwa-Natal (South Africa)
Ph.D., 1989, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale
MBA, 2008, Keller Graduate School of Management, Online, FL, USA


 

Dr.Clay Harris, Graduate Program Coordinator

KOM 322-E
clay.harris@mtsu.edu

615-904-8019

Associate Professor of Geosciences - Sedimentology, Oceanography, Geoscience of Energy

B.A.,1981, Indiana University, Bloomington
M.S., 1987, Southern Illinois University,Carbondale
Ph.D., 1992, Indiana University, Bloomington.


 

Dr. Jim Henry

KOM 325-D
jim.henry@mtsu.edu

615-904-8452

Professor of Geosciences - Meteorology, Geomorphology, Remote Sensing

B.A.,1971, University of California, Los Angeles
M.A., 1974, California State University, Long Beach
Ph.D., 1978, University of Kansas


 

 Mike Hiett

KOM 325-F
michael.hiett@mtsu.edu

615-898-2730

Lecturer in Geosciences - Physical Geology and Earth Science

B.S. Agriculture, 1977, Middle Tennessee State University
B.S. Geology, 1985, Middle Tennessee State University
M.S. Hydrogeology, 1996, University of Kentucky


 

Sarah KrentzSarah Krentz

KOM 301-G
sarah.krentz@mtsu.edu

615-494-7641

Lecturer in Geosciences - Earth Science

B.A., 2006, Northwestern University
M.S., 2009, Vanderbilt University


 

 Zada Law Zada Law

KOM 101-A
zada.law@mtsu.edu

615-494-7641

Fullerton Laboratory for Spatial Technology - GIS

A.B., Anthropology/Archaeology, University of Indiana
M.A., Anthropology/Archaeology, University of Wisconsin


 

  Dr. Melissa Lobegeier

KOM 322-B
melissa.lobegeier@mtsu.edu

615-898-2403

Assistant Professor of Geosciences. - Paleontology, Historical Geology

B.Sc.,1994, University of Queensland;
B.Sc. (Hons), 1995, University of Queensland;
Ph.D., 2001, James Cook University.


 

 Steve McClainSteve McClain

Lecturer in Geosciences - Geography

KOM 301-D
stephen.mcclain@mtsu.edu

615-904-8098

B.A., 2001, Geography, Kent State University
M.A., 2003, Geography, Kent State University


 

  Dr. Henrique MommDr. Henrique Momm

KOM 322-G
henrique.momm@mtsu.edu

615-904-8372

Assistant Professor of Geosciences -  Geographic Information Systems
Director, MTSU GIS Center 

B.S., 1999, Civil Engineering, Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil
M.S., 2003, Civil Engineering, The University of Mississippi
Ph.D., 2008, Geology and Geological Engineering, The University of Mississippi


 Karen Marie Wolfe

KOM 322-A
karen.wolfe@mtsu.edu

615-898-2726

Executive Aide 

Room 0325B Bldg KOM
MTSU Box 0009

B.A.,1984, David Lipscomb University.


 

Dr. Ron Zawislak

KOM 301-C
ron.zawislak@mtsu.edu

615-898-5609

Professor of Geosciences -  Geophysics

B.A.,1966, Vanderbilt University
M.A.T., 1968, Vanderbilt University
Ph.D., 1980, University of Wyoming