Social Work Graduate Faculty

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues.

Only members of the MTSU Graduate Faculty are eligible to teach 5000/6000/7000 level graduate courses (including dual-listed UG/GR courses) or to serve on thesis or dissertation committees. Graduate faculty members in doctoral degree granting programs who wish to chair a dissertation committee must be endorsed for such service by their program and approved by the graduate dean.


HAROLD WHITESIDE, PhD, Interim Dean, College of Behavioral and Health Sciences

SCOTT COLCLOUGH, PhD, Interim Associate Dean, College of Behavioral and Health Sciences


JUSTIN BUCCHIO, PhD, Assistant Professor [Renew: Spring 2022]

KATHLEEN DARBY, PhD, Associate Professor [Renewal Date: Spring 2020]

ANGELA PHARRIS, MSW, Assistant Professor, MSW Coordinator [Term Ends: Spring 2021]

MICHAEL SHERR, PhD, Professor [Renewal Date: Fall 2021]

REBECCA SMITH, PhD, Professor [Renewal Date: Spring 2020]

BARBARA F. TURNAGE, PhD, Professor [Renewal Date: Spring 2022]



BEVERLY ENGLISH, MA, Adjunct Professor [Term Ends: Spring 2019]

VICKIE HARDEN, MSW, Adjunct Professor [Term Ends: Spring 2018] 

BETHANIE POE, PhD, Adjunct Professor [Renew: Fall 2020]

JOHN SANBORN, MSW, Adjunct Professor [Term Ends: Spring 2018] 

MATTHEW THOMPSON, MSW, Adjunct Professor [Renew: Spring 2021]