Faculty & Staff Directory

The Department of History consists of forty-five full-time faculty members and a support staff of three. Twenty-five of our graduate students serve as teaching, research, and public history assistants. The Department is among the most active on campus, with a strong emphasis on outstanding teaching, original research, and public service. Current members of the History faculty include peer-reviewed book authors and editors, officers in learned societies, and contributors to academic journals. Faculty members are focused on student success and on maintaining a high quality undergraduate program and exceptional graduate programs in history. Please explore our website to learn more about our members of staff, undergraduate and graduate programs, and recent news.

In Memoriam  

Faculty Areas: To see a list of faculty by geographical specialization, click here.

Name

Email

Telephone

Adonijah Bakari adonijah.bakari@mtsu.edu (615) 898-5905
Andrew Baker andrew.baker@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2574
Emily Baran emily.baran@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2634
James Beeby, Department Chair james.beeby@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2642
Billie Jean Brown, History Dept Main Office, Peck Hall 223 billiejean.brown@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2631
Thomas Bynum, Director, African American Studies thomas.bynum@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2760
Yuan-ling Chao Director, Undergraduate Program yuanling.chao@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2629
Rebecca Conard, Director, Public History rebecca.conard@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2423
Clay Cooper clay.cooper@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2646
Mark Doyle mark.doyle@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2545
Mary Evins, Center for Historic Preservation mary.evins@mtsu.edu (615) 904-8241
Sean Foley sean.foley@mtsu.edu (615) 904-8294
Stacey Graham, Center for Historic Preservation stacey.graham@mtsu.edu (615) 494-8783
Louis Haas  louis.haas@mtsu.edu (615) 898-5828
Tara Hayes, History Dept Main Office, Peck Hall 223 tara.hayes@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2536
Doug Heffington, Director, Global Studies doug.heffington@mtsu.edu (615) 898-5978
Mary Hoffschwelle mary.hoffschwelle@mtsu.edu (615) 898-5806
Pippa Holloway, Director, Graduate Studies pippa.holloway@mtsu.edu (615) 904-8149
Robert Hunt  robert.hunt@mtsu.edu (615) 898-5519
Brian M. Ingrassia brian.ingrassia@mtsu.edu (615) 494-7759
Kelly Kolar kelly.kolar@mtsu.edu (615) 898.2804
Aliou Ly aliou.ly@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2627
Bren Martin brenden.martin@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2643 
Dawn McCormack, Assistant Dean, College of Liberal Arts dawn.mccormack@mtsu.edu (615) 494-8603
Kristine McCusker kristine.mccusker@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2544
Becky McIntyre, Coordinator, National History Day @ MTSU becky.mcintyre@mtsu.edu (615) 494-8620
Susan Myers-Shirk, Director, Department General Education susan.myers-shirk@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2386
Lynn Nelson lynn.nelson@mtsu.edu (615) 904-8174
Martha Norkunas martha.norkunas@mtsu.edu (615) 494-7701
Michael Paulauskas michael.paulauskas@mtsu.edu (615) 494-7606
Andrew Polk andrew.polk@mtsu.edu (615) 904-8097
Lisa Pruitt lisa.pruitt@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2051
Josué Rey josue.rey@mtsu.edu Distance Learning
Christoph Rosenmüller Fulbright Fellow, On-Leave christoph.rosenmuller@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2638
Nancy Rupprecht nancy.rupprecht@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2645
Benjamin Sawyer benjamin.sawyer@mtsu.edu (615) 904-8162
Amy Sayward amy.sayward@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2569
Ken Scherzer kenneth.scherzer@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2003
Kathryn Sikes kathryn.sikes@mtsu.edu (615) 494-8748
Kelle Knight, History Dept Main Office, Peck Hall 223 kelle.knight@mtsu.edu (615) 898-5798
Ashley Riley Sousa ashley.rileysousa@mtsu.edu (615) 898-5805
Suzanne Sutherland suzanne.sutherland@mtsu.edu (615) 494-8736
Sabrina Thomas, Underrepresented Minority Dissertation Fellow sabrina.thomas@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2638
Van West, Director, Center for Historic Preservation carroll.west@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2262
Jim Williams, Director, Albert Gore Research Center jim.williams@mtsu.edu (615) 898-2633
Louis Woods louis.woods@mtsu.edu (615) 494-7987

Affiliated Faculty

Adjunct History Faculty

Retired and Emeriti Faculty