Search Area
  • New Image Gallery

Events Calendar

Faculty Fellows Program

The Academy of Teaching Excellence Faculty Fellow program is a teaching and professional development opportunity designed to work with your specific and unique needs. Although it is geared toward tenure-track faculty, the program is open to all faculty members regardless of rank or status.

Becoming a Faculty Fellow

The full program includes completion of the following criteria during the academic year:

  • Attendance of at least four LT&ITC workshops
  • Constructing a Teaching Philosophy Statement
  • Creating a formal Faculty Development Plan
  • Consulting with a faculty Teaching Mentor or the Center's Instructional Design Specialist, and
  • Writing a Reflection Document on one's teaching and professional development experiences during the program.

Participants are encouraged to adapt the program requirements to fit their own particular situation and circumstances.

Faculty who successfully complete the year-long program will receive the Center's Faculty Fellow designation for the coming year and are encouraged to participate as a consultant and resource for this year's participants in the program. Program participants from the past two years have found that it provides excellent professional development support and growth.

Because this is a academic year-long program, you must enroll in the program at the beginning of the Fall semester. There are between 15-20 slots available on a first-come, first-served basis. If you have any questions or wish to sign up please e-mail

Former and Current Faculty Fellows



Alicja Lanfear Biology 
Cary Greenwood Journalism 
Christina Cobb University Studies 
Hanna Park  Journalism 
Jane Lim  Elementary Education 
Jeremy Sather  Foreign Languages 
Joan McRae  Foreign Languages 
Jon Frederick Psychology 
Karen Reed Curriculum Library 
Meg Brooker Dance 
Sadie Harris  Health & Human Performance 
Shannon Harmon  Elementary Education 
Waleed Alanzi  Health & Human Performance 



Diane Edmonson Management & Marketing
Amy Sayward History
Terry Goodin  Educational Leadership
Deana Raffo Management & Marketing
Dawn McCormack  History
Lindsey Bier  Speech & Theatre
Steve Decker Speech & Theatre
Debra Boyd Speech & Theatre
Claire Cook  Human Sciences
Robert Lawrence  English
Lee Gilroy  Psychology
Jennifer Bannatta-Hall  Music
Rebekah Heath Accounting
Sherri Stevens  Nursing
Amanda Flagg  Nursing



Mary Beth Asbury  Speech & Theatre
Hyrum Carroll Computer Sciences
Jessica Kratzer Speech & Theatre
Jason Pettigrew  Foreign Languages & Literatures


2016, Middle Tennessee State University, a Tennessee Board of Regents institution, 1301 East Main Street, Murfreesboro, TN 37132-0001 USA +1-615-898-2300

Middle Tennessee State University, in its educational programs and activities involving students and employees, does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, creed, ethnic or national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity/expression, disability, age (as applicable), status as a covered veteran or genetic information. For more information see Middle Tennessee State University. |  Nondiscrimination Policy