• MTSU's Mock Trial team regularly places in the nation's top ten
  • MTSU attracts speakers such as former Congressman Jim Leach, now chair of the National Endowment for the Humanities
  • MTSU students expand their worlds with Education Abroad
  • Constitution Day brings James Madison out of the Honors College dean's office

Virtual Mentoring Program

mentoringAdvice from those who have come through the program before you!

They have all sat where you sit now.. and survived. They have taken many of the same classes, probably had some of the same professors, struggled with some of the same challenges, graduated, and today work in a wide range of fields.They have all VOLUNTEERED to serve as virtual mentors to our current students. They are more than happy to hear from you and offer professional or even personal advice, share their thoughts about career choices and opportunities, or even share stories about their times in Peck Hall and MTSU.For tips on How to Approach a Mentor, click here. Email an alum... adopt a virtual mentor.


Alumni are grouped into the following areas:
Administrative  |  Education  |  Government-related  |  International  |  Law  |  Students (still)  |  Other  |  Graduates of the Master's in International Affairs

Administrative

Occupation/title Place of Employment Name Email Address Year
Grad
Project Manager - Aftersales Division/Business Planning and Development Nissan North America Ashley Adams-Norman double_a_144@hotmail.com 2006
Sr.placement Specialist/Middle Market Team Leader Willis of Tennessee, Inc Louis Allocco louis.allocco@willis.com 1987 
Human resources Manager Nashville International Airport Robert Blackwell Robert_Blackwell@nashintl.com 2005
Provider Contractor Prime Health Services (Brentwood, TN) Jacob Butler  jjb23u@gmail.com 2011
Branch Manager Accu-Tech Corporation Brent Campbell Brent.Campbell@accu-tech.com 2002
Public consulting PCG Jamie Demonbreun jdemonbreun@pcgus.com 2012
Medical Operations Officer U.S. Special Operations Command Jason C. Eaves jason.c.eaves.mil@mail.mil  2008
Executive Director and Chief Legal Counsel Greater Nashville Regional Council Sam Edwards sedwards@gnrc.org 1972
Construction   Matt Gardner Matt.Gardner@ifpinc.us 2005
President Graham Insurance, Inc. Jade Edward Graham jade@graham-ins.com 1994
real estate    Charlie Harrison  murfreesboro1@gmail.com 1990
Field Pricing Leader PSS Josh Hudgins jhudgins@pssd.com 2004
Chief Operating Officer Phoenix Boats Teresa A. Johnson tjohnson@phoenixbassboats.com 1994
Financial Services Rep and Loan Officer First Tennessee Bank Brad Lamb jbradfordlamb@gmail.com 2009
Chairman The Lenox Group, LLC Thomas E. Ledford tledford@lenoxgroupllc.com 1970
Economic Development & Chamber Director Cavalier, ND Bryan McCoy bryan.mccoy783@gmail.com 2008
Area Compliance Officer Sigue Corporation Cameron Parrish Cameronparrish@gmail.com 2003
Trade Union  Team Leader New South Wales Nurse & Midwives Association Jordan Petit jpetit.usa@gmail.com 2007
President Market Wise, Inc Guy W. Pridgen, Jr. gpridgenjr@marketwiseinc.com 1983
Contracts Coordinator Middle Tennessee State University Leigh Walls Leigh.Walls@mtsu.edu 2002 

 

Education

[top of page]

Occupation/ Title Place of Employment Name Email Address Year Grad
Business and Technology Teacher Metro Nashville Schools Crystal Cunningham crystal.cunningham@live.com 2006
Director of Student Success Claiborn County Campus, Walters State Community College Marlin Cunutt Marlin.Curnutt@ws.edu 1995
U.S. History/U.S. Government Teacher/History Professor Grundy County Board of Education/
Chattanooga State Community College
Kelly Gibbs the_tn_Rebel@yahoo.com 2006
History/finance teacher Collinwood high school Ragan Greer Stooksberry ragangreer@gmail.com 2009
Admissions Counselor Nashville State Community College Tassany Henderson Tassany.henderson@gmail.com 2008
Assistant Principal/
Mid-Cumberland Representative
White House Middle School/ Tennessee Department of Education, common Core Leadership Council Scott Langford robert.s.langford@gmail.com 1995
Political Science Tutor MTSU Ryan Peters
Ryan_Peters@live.com 2014
Intervention and Regular Ed. Teacher Milan Middle School David Rhodes david.rhodes83@gmail.com 2007
Professor of Political Science Montevallo University Scott Turner turners@montevallo.edu 1989

 

Government-related

[top of  page]

Occupation/ Title Place of Employment Name Email Address Year Grad
Assistant Director AccessTN Ryan Bouldin Ryan.Bouldin@tn.gov 2002
Legislative Assistant & Correspondence Manager U.S. House of Representatives (Congressman Crawford, AR-01) Abi Burgess abbiburgess@gmail.com 2008
Legislative Assistant to Senator Reginald Tate Tennessee General Assembly Lauren Spires
lauren.spires@capitol.tn.gov 2010

Program Associate Broadcast Journalist & Arabic Linguist 

District of Columbia National Guard, Washington, DC   Jason Davis jrdavis84@hotmail.com  2012
Assistant Director, Division of Budget Department of Finance and Administration, State of Tennessee Mike Dedmon
Mike.Dedmon@tn.gov 1989
Legislative Director Congressman John Yarmuth (KY) Zack Marshall zackmarshall@gmail.com 2007
Correctional Officer Davidson County Sheriffs Office James Martorana james_brian_0000@msn.com 2014
Professional Relations Officer DHS-State of Tennessee Dustin K. Mitchell dustin.k.mitchell@ssa.gov 2001
Logistics officer & attorney Marine Corps Officer Capt. Sherman Neal II
shermanneal777@gmail.com 2010
Senior Air Defense Officer USAF/Florida Air National Guard LT Col Ralph Swindler ralphmtsu@gmail.com 1988
Domestic Violence Court Coordinator Rutherford County Government Dolores M. Tillage dmt2d@mtmail.mtsu.edu 2002
Civil Rights Officer North County Transit District (NCTD Jarret D. Wade jdw6i@mtmail.mtsu.edu 2009
Computer Forensic Examiner NASA office of the inspector general computer crimes division Tracy Walraven tracy.l.walraven@nasa.gov 1999
Federal Lobbyist Raytheon Company Courtney Genosi Watson cgenosi_watson@yahoo.com 1999
2nd Lt US Army Brad Weber teambwebs@gmail.com 2012


International

[top of  page]

Occupation/ Title Place of Employment Name Email Address Year Grad
U.S. Diplomat/
Foreign Service Officer
U.S. Department of State Stewart Aaron Carlton stewart.aaron.carlton@gmail.com 2005
Human Rights Research Specialist The Protection Project (Johns Hopkins- SAIS) Mandy Davis medavis725@hotmail.com 2012
Project Coordinator in Tanzania    2Seeds Network Whitney Flatt Whitneyflatt@hotmail.com 2014
Foreign Service Fellow - African Bureau U.S. Department of State Patrick Pratt Patrick.james.pratt@gmail.com 2010
Retired United Nations Mary Pat Silveira mpsilveira@usa.net 1970
Peace Corp Volunteer in Dominican Republic (currently in graduate school) Peace Corps Andrew Sullivan acsully@gmail.com 2009


Law

[top of  page]

Occupation/ Title Place of Employment Name Email Address Year Grad
Probation/Parole officer TN Dept of Corrections Raven Adair raadair90@yahoo.com 2012
Attorney Law Office of Adra E. Burks Adra E. Burks adraburks@sunflower.com 1972
Member Leitner, Williams, Dooley & Napolitan, PLLC Thomas Dement thomas.dement@leitnerfirm.com 1990
General Counsel Healthways, Inc Mary Flipse Mary.Flipse@healthways.com 1989
Attorney Buerger, Moseley&Carson Scott C. Gardner sgardner@buergerlaw.com 2005
Attorney   Megan Kingree makingree@bellsouth.net 1996
Clerk for Magistrate Rosenberg Juvenile Court Clerk's Office Hannah Meeks hannah.n.meeks@gmail.com 2011
Logistics officer & attorney Marine Corps Officer Capt. Sherman Neal II
shermanneal777@gmail.com 2010
Attorney Sobel, Poss & Moore Michelle Poss michelleposs@spmlawfirm,com 1992
Attorney Harwell, Howard Hyne, Gabbert & Manner Ryan M. Richards ryan.richards@h3gm.com 2007
Asst DA Chattanooga TN Matthew Rogers cmathew.rogers@gmail.com 1998
Attorney Memphis Area Legal Services Carlissa Shaw cshaw0305@yahoo.com

2009
Attorney private practice Jack Welch, Jr jwelch@welchlegal.com 1988
Paralegal John Day Offices of Law Elizabeth Whittle lwhittle@johndaylegal.com 2014


Still Studying

[top of  page]

Occupation/ Title Institution Name Email Address Year Grad
Law Student University of Virginia College of Law Katie Bogle
kjb2pb@virginia.edu 2011
Law Student Nashville School of Law Jim Edwards jw_e@bellsouth.net 2012
Ph.D. Student, Grad Instructor & Fulbright Fellow  Washington State University  Adam Emerson  adam.e.emerson@gmail.com  2012
Law Student University of Tennessee -Knoxville Alexander Ford alexanderjford@gmail.com 2013
Law Student Florida Coastal School of Law Brittany Forrester Brittany.Forrester@law.fcsl,edu  2014
Law Student University of Chicago Law School Constance Grieves constancegrieves@yahoo.com 2013
Law Students (*also a clerk at the Juvenile Court) Nashville School of Law Hannah Meeks hannah.n.meeks@gmail.com 2011
Student/Administrative and Office Support Intern with the Department of Justice Elliott School of International Affairs - George Washington University and the US Department of Justice Joseph Meyer
jdmeyer@bellsouth.net 2014
Law Student Belmont Law School Tammy Mezera Tammy.Mezera@pop.belmont.edu 2013
Grad Student New York University Alexandria D. Miklich alexmiklich_10@hotmail.com 2013
Law Student The University of Memphis Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law Christopher Miller christopher.miller.usn@gmail.com 

 

2014

Law Student University of Tennessee College of Law Patrick Morrison patrick.kelly.morrison@gmail.com 2012
MBA University of New South Jordan Petit jpetit.usa@gmail.com 2007
Grad Student (Masters in International Affairs) George Washington University Patrick Pratt Patrick.james.pratt@gmail.com 2010
Grad Student (Masters in Public Affairs) Indiana University Andrew Sullivan acsully@gmail.com 2009
Student University of Arkansas Aaron Shew aaronmshew@gmail.com 2011
Law Student American University Washington College of Law Lisa Shores
lisabugg21@yahoo.com 2010
Grad Student Texas A&M University (Public Policy) Chris Young crj2q@mtmail.mtsu.edu 2010


Other

[top of  page]

Occupation/ Title Place of Employment Name Email Address Year Grad
Freelance Author, Tutor   Sean Bentzen seanbentzen@comcast.net 2009
Outreach Manager OTerra Eclipse (web design) Matthew Hurtt Matt.Hurtt@gmail.com 2009
Retired Retired Jim Farley lcins@aol.com 1970

 

Graduates of the Master's in International Affairs

[top of page]

Title Place of Employment / School Name Email Undergrad Degree MA Conc. Degree Year
Ph.D.student Emory University-Political Science Rachel Harmon r.a.harmon@emory.edu MTSU- Int. Relations Security/Peace 2012
Ph.D.student MTSU - economics Cassie Smith cns3m@mtmail.mtsu.edu MTSU -Pol. Sci. Development / Globalization 2014
Executive Director Free For Life International Gabrielle Thompason joyous_being@yahoo.com MTSU-Global Studies Development / Globalization 2014