2015-2016 Foundation Award Winners

Michael Brian Hein 
Professior, Department of Psychology
Career Achievement Award

A professor of Psychology in the Industrial/Organizational Psychology (I/O) program, Michael Hein is also the Director of MTSU's Center for Organizational and Human Resource Effectiveness (COHRE) which he helped establish. He received both his Ph.D. (1990) and his M.S. (1989) in Industrial/Organizational Psychology from the Georgia Institute of Technology, and his B.A. in Psychology from the University of Northern Iowa (1984).

 Michael Hein has served as Director of the master’s in I/O Psychology, taught graduate courses, and has developed four graduate courses, a graduate lab and a hybrid course: Factor Analysis and Related Methods, Psychological Research Methods in Human Resource Management, Structural Equation Modeling, Topics in Quantitative Psychology, Lab for the Intermediate Statistics course, and a hybrid version of the course Introduction to Psychological Testing, Over the past 25 years, he has supervised fifty completed theses and is currently serving on nine committees. He estimates that he has served on at least one hundred thesis committees of which he was not the chair.

 Michael Hein’s research interests include leadership, best use of training/practice time, the determinants of skilled task performance, and the development of expertise. An avid researcher and prolific author, he has published articles in leading journals in his areas of expertise, among them, the Leadership Quarterly, the Journal of Personality, Group Dynamics, the Journal of Applied Social Psychology, and the Journal of Creative Behavior. In addition, he has co-authored book chapters in The Biodata Handbook and Improving Organizational Performance with the Productivity Measurement and Enhancement System: An International Collaboration and made numerous presentations to regional, national, and international professional conventions and meetings.  

 Widely sought after as a consultant, Michael Hein also has over twenty-five years of experience working with clients in a variety of industries on projects regarding job analysis, employee surveys, training needs analysis, onboarding new employees, leadership development, performance appraisal, and organizational performance measurement. Some of his past clients include Toshiba, Jack Daniel's, Eaton, Square-D, SSR, Murfreesboro Police Department, Ingram Books, Rutherford County, Kroll Background America, the Tennessee Board of Regents, and the Tennessee Small Business Development Center. Michael Hein is a licensed Implications Wheel™ Facilitator and is certified as a trainer in the Center for Leadership Studies Situational Leadership® Program.

 A consistent grant award recipient over several years, Michael Hein’s most recent grants include serving as an evaluator on A Catalyst to ADVANCE the Participation and Advancement of Women in Academic STEM Careers at Middle Tennessee State University (NSF funded, $15,000), and in collaboration with his colleagues, Cen Li, John Wallin, and Qiang Wu: MTSU Student Success: Improving Minority Student Success through Data Driven Comparative Analysis (Tennessee Board of Regents funded, $40,000).

 Active in public service, Michael Hein’s activities include a First Presbyterian Church strategic planning survey with Richard Moffett ($10,200), University of Texas at Dallas strategic planning with Richard Moffett ($13,400), and Psi Chi Headquarters in Chattanooga organizational assessment with Patrick McCarthy ($21,000). His most recent service includes a Regents Online Community Collaborative (Tennessee Board of Regents) organizational performance measurement ($16,000), ROCC onboarding process ($13,000), and a State of TN Department of Human Resources Measurement Workshop III with Mark Frame ($5,000).

 Michael Hein’s professional commitment is evidenced through his service as a Program Reviewer for the Society of Industrial/Organizational Psychology’s annual convention and as Program Reviewer for the Southeastern Psychological Association's annual convention. He has also served as a reviewer for Human Factors and for Human Resource Development Quarterly. He holds membership in the Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology and The American Psychological Society. Committed to the professional development of his students, he has worked closely with the student chapter of the Society of Human Resource Management.

 For the  major contributions to his profession, graduate and undergraduate program development, and the stellar educational preparation of his students, Michael Heim is the most worthy recipient of the 2016 Middle Tennessee State University Career Achievement Award.

 Outstanding Teacher Awards

  • Dr. Mark "Nate" Callender, Aerospace
  • Dr. Helen "Joey" Gray, Health & Human Performance
  • Dr. Lisa G. Langenbach, Political Science & International Relations
  • Dr. Cliff A. Welborn, Management
  • Dr. Andrew R. Wyatt, Sociology & Anthropology

Outstanding Teaching in General Education

  • Dr. Jennifer W. Kates, English

Outstanding Achievement in Instructional Technology Awards

  • Mr. Charles B. Dahan, Recording Industry
  • Ms. Tammy R. Donham, Recording Industry
  • Dr. Anatoliy Volkov, Chemistry

Outstanding Public Service Awards

  • Dr. Robert B. Blair, Marketing
  • Dr. Terri J. Tharp, Elementary & Special Education
  • Ms. Tammy Q. Bryant, Coordinator - Off-Campus Programs, University College

Distinguished Research Awards

  • Dr. Nancy S. Goldberg, Foreign Languages & Literatures
  • Dr. Philip E. Phillips, Associate Dean, University Honors College

Creative Activity Award

  • Dr. Gaylord Brewer, English

Career Achievement Award

  • Dr. Michael B. Hein, Psychology

Special Projects Award

  • Dr. David E. Nelson, "Establishment of a Quantitative Live Cell Imaging Center at MTSU"
  • Robert Gordon & John Merchant, "360/Virtual Reality Video Project"