State Authorization Information

Out-of-State Students Interested in an Online Degree from Middle Tennessee State University

State and federal laws require colleges and universities to be authorized to offer online degree programs in states other than their own. Below is a list of states in which Middle Tennessee State University is authorized to offer online degrees.  Individuals from states not listed below are unable to enroll in MTSU online programs.

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • District of Columbia
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana (does not include any programs from the Tech Schools)
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin  

The following information will assist you in navigating resources for resolving any complaints or concerns you may have about how your MTSU academic online program is administered.


Adult Learning Focused Institution