American Library Association Office for Accreditation 225 N. Michigan Avenue Suite 1300 Chicago, Illinois 60601-7616 USA https://www.ala.org/accreditation



TDD 312-944-7298 Toll free TDD 888-814-7692 Telephone 312-280-2432

Committee on Accreditation

Chair: Athena Salaba Kent State, OH

Denice Adkins Columbia, MO

Pauletta Brown Bracy Durham, NC

H. Frank Cervone Chicago, IL

Andrea Copeland Indianapolis, IN

Gail Dickinson Norfolk, VA

Joyce Illfelder-Kaye State College, PA

Iris M. Lee Washington, DC

Nona Ostrove Voorhees, NJ

Win Shih Los Angeles, California

Brett Waytuck Regina, Saskatchewan Canada

Shali Zhang Auburn, Alabama

Office for Accreditation

Karen O'Brien, Director Susana Stoll, Associate Director June 23, 2023

Frank Lambert, Coordinator MLS Program Womack Educational Leadership Department Middle Tennessee State University 1301 East Main Street, P.O. Box 91 Murfreesboro, TN 37132

Dear Dr. Lambert:

The Committee on Accreditation (CoA/ the Committee) reviewed the Precandidacy Progress Report and noted that a good start has been made in providing evidence to use in support of compliance with the accreditation Standards. Moving forward, please build on this by further developing and meaningfully aligning the evidence being provided to relevant Standards and standard elements. That way, a clearly stated and direct link between the evidence and the standards can be demonstrated. This will also need to be true for evidence provided for addressing standards relating not only to the general master's program but also to the any current or planned specializations offered as part of the program.

The schedule of reporting is as follows:

Report	Due
Precandidacy Progress Report	February 15, 2024
Annual 2023 statistics trended	February 15, 2024

The Committee on Accreditation appreciates this opportunity to remain apprised of developments in the program and extends best wishes for the remainder of the academic year.

Sincerely yours,

Athena Salaba, Chair, ALA Committee on Accreditation

cc: James Huffman, Chair, Womack Educational Leadership Department, Middle Tennessee State University Karen O'Brien, Director, ALA Office for Accreditation