About the Office

The Office of the University Provost is located in rooms 110 and 111 of the Cope Administration Building. Our regular office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. The main office phone number is (615) 898-2880.


Mark ByrnesMark Byrnes, Ph.D.

University Provost
Email: Mark.Byrnes@mtsu.edu
Phone: (615) 898-2953 


Michael Baily  Baily

Director of Academic Integrity
Email: Michael.Baily@mtsu.edu 
Phone: (615) 898-2533

Responsibilities: investigate and dispose of all academic integrity matters involving MTSU students per protocol; provide support services and establish lines of communication with University offices; serve as an ex-officio member of University committees; schedule hearings and train MTSU’s Academic Misconduct Committee; speak to groups about the academic misconduct process.


Mitzi T. Brandon, M.S.

Mitzi BrandonCurriculum Specialist
Email: Mitzi.Brandon@mtsu.edu 
Phone: (615) 904-8210 

Responsibilities: manage and maintain content of the online undergraduate and graduate catalogs and oversee approved catalog changes; ensure data integrity related to undergraduate, and graduate curriculum; work with University Curriculum Committee and the Graduate Council to incorporate curricular changes and advise on approval process including implementation dates.


Chris BrewerProfile Photo

Assistant Vice Provost, Institutional Effectiveness, Planning, and Research
Email: Chris.Brewer@mtsu.edu
Phone: (615) 898-5197
Jones Hall, Room 200


Nita Brooks, Ph.D. Nita Brooks

Interim Vice Provost for Academic Programs
Email: Nita.Brooks@mtsu.edu
Phone: (615) 494-7611

Responsibilities: Academic program development, approval, and management; academic policy development and implementation; curricular initiatives; general education; transfer and articulation issues.


Rebecca ColeBecky Cole

Associate Provost for Academic Administration and Resources
Email: Becky.Cole@mtsu.edu 
Phone: (615) 898-5925

Responsibilities: budget and resource allocation, faculty recruitment and hiring processes, payroll, market salary studies, workload guidelines, and faculty workload


Mitzi Dunkley

Faculty Recruitment SpecialistMitzi Dunkley
Email: mitzi.dunkley@mtsu.edu
Phone: (615) 898-5128

Responsibilities: Administer faculty work flow through the MTSU online employment system to include electronic and paper work flow for all levels of faculty searches including recruitment plans, advertisements, candidate rating instruments, salary recommendations, verification of credentials for accreditation body requirements, and preparation of employment contract.


David Edgar  David Edgar

Manager, Academic Space Planning
Email: David.Edgar@mtsu.edu

Responsibilities: Space issues


Darlene Fults     Darlene Fults

Coordinator of Academic Affairs
Email: Darlene.Fults@mtsu.edu 
Phone: (615) 898-2881

Responsibilities: Serves as the administrative assistant to the Vice Provost for Academic Programs and the Associate Provost for Academic Administration and Resources; provides support for several curriculum processes (University Curriculum Committee, General Education, and Curriculog); manages mail and documents for Academic Support Services; supports faculty workload processes; and assists Director of General Education.


Mary Hoffschwelle, Ph.D. MaryH

Associate Provost for Strategic Planning and Partnerships
Email: Mary.Hoffschwelle@mtsu.edu
Phone: (615) 898-5806

Responsibilities: SACSCOC accreditation liaison, coordinator of Academic Master Plan implementation, faculty development,
strategic planning, regional initiatives, and selected special projects.


Keith HuberGeneral Huber

Lieutenant General, U.S. Army, (Ret.)
Senior Advisor for Veterans and Leadership Initiatives
Email: Keith.Huber@mtsu.edu
Phone: (615) 898-5267


Maria Knox Maria Knox

Financial Management Analyst II
Email: Maria.Knox@mtsu.edu
Phone: (615) 898-5184

Responsibilities: Accounting and website for Technology Access Fees, Data Analysis for Space Utilization


Allison McGoffin Allison McGoffin

Assistant to the University Provost
Email: Allison.McGoffin@mtsu.edu
Phone: (615) 898-2953



Susan Myers-Shirk, Ph.D.SusanMyersShirk

Director of General Education 
Email: Susan.Myers-Shirk@mtsu.edu
Phone: (615) 898-2386 
Peck Hall 282


Teresa OjedaJohnson

Business Process Specialist
Email: Teresa.Johnson@mtsu.edu
Phone: (615) 898-5544

Responsibilities:  Preparation of Fall and Spring term Faculty Cohort reports. Preparation of the Administrative Staff and Full-Time Faculty List book for publication each Fall. Preparation and submission of CUPA faculty reporting each Fall. Banner data entry and verification of faculty credentials for reporting, University Catalog, etc. Primary liaison between Academic Affairs and Information Technology as it relates to administrative software.


Angie PriceAngiePrice

Coordinator of Academic Events
Email: Angie.Price@mtsu.edu 
Phone: (615) 898-5941

Responsibilities: Serves as the administrative assistant to the Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs; processes grade appeals and international travel authorizations, oversees faculty grant award budgets; prepares and organizes processes related to commencement, new faculty orientation, foundation awards (Outstanding Teaching and Career Achievement), fall faculty meeting, promotion and tenure reception, retirement reception; provides support for accreditation on-site visits, administrative searches, and Learning, Teaching, and Innovative Technology Center.


Lynn Sewak Sewak

Financial Management Analyst II
Email: Lynn.Sewak@mtsu.edu
Phone: (615) 494-8721

Responsibilities: Provides assistance to the Associate Provost for Academic Administration and Resources in all budget related functions and activities. Verification of education credentials for SACSCOC for all adjuncts teaching each semester, maintenance of all adjunct faculty files and verification of pay instruments. Maintains online SACSCOC faculty roster, creates departmental staffing assessments, and monitors position budgets.


Cheryl B. Torsney, Ph.D.Cheryl Torsney

Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
Email: Cheryl.Torsney@mtsu.edu
Phone: (615) 898-5941

Responsibilities: All matters dealing with the faculty, including tenure and promotion; faculty and instructional development; academic integrity; faculty orientation and development; faculty awards and recognition; academic policy development and implementation; commencement and related activities; faculty and student concerns; and academic initiatives for the University Provost. Co-director of Learning, Teaching and Innovative Technologies Center.  Acts as Chief Diversity Officer for the University.

 

We welcome the opportunity to share information about our division. Contact us with your comments and questions.