Our Faculty


Ron Aday   ronald.aday@mtsu.edu   898-2125
Dr. Aday is professor of Sociology/Anthropology. His research centers on women's health concerns in prison and domestic violence. He has authored the book, Women Aging in Prison. For Women's and Gender Studies minors, he teaches SOC/CDFS 4140 Violence in the Family.

Linda Badley   linda.badley@mtsu.edu   898-2597   Council Member
Dr. Badley is professor of English. Her research centers on gender in the horror and science fiction genres. For Women's and Gender Studies minors, she teaches WGST 4213 Gender and Horror and ENGL 3880 Women and Film.

Claudia Barnett   claudia.barnett@mtsu.edu   898-2887
Dr. Barnett is professor of English at MTSU. Her research centers on women and performance. For Women's and Gender Studies minors, she teaches ENGL 3730 Women Writers of the Twentieth Century, and ENGL 2020 Women Who Kill (Honors).

Brenda Berretta   brendaberretta@comcast.net   898-2630
Brenda Berretta teaches CJA 3700 Women, Crime, and Justice Administration (Distance Learning) for Women's and Gender Studies minors.

Patricia Bradley   pat.bradley@mtsu.edu   904-8128   Council Member
Dr. Bradley is professor of English at MTSU. Her research and teaching interests include, southern literature, 19th- and 20th-century American literature, adolescent literature, and English education.

Michelle Boyer-Pennington   michelle.boyer-pennington@mtsu.edu   898-5451
Dr. Boyer-Pennington is associate professor of Psychology at MTSU. For Women's and Gender Studies minors she teaches PSY 4620 Psychology of Women.

Clare Bratten   clare.bratten@mtsu.edu   898-2795   Council Member
Dr. Bratten is associate professor of Electronic Media Communication. For Women's and Gender Studies minors she teaches WGST 2100 Introduction to Women's Studies and WGST 3500 Women in the Media.

Elvira Casal   e.casal@mtsu.edu   898-2576   Council Member
Dr. Casal is professor of English and Director of Upper Division English. For Women's and Gender Studies minors she teaches ENGL 3725 Nineteenth Century Women Writers.
Meredith Dye   meredith.dye@mtsu.edu   898-2690   Council Member

Dr. Dye is associate professor of Sociology and Anthropology. For Women's and Gender Studies minors she teaches CDFS/SOC 4140 Violence in the Family.

Jackie Eller   jackie.eller@mtsu.edu   898-2509   Council Member
Dr. Eller is interim vice provost for research and dean, College of Graduate Studies, and professor of Sociology.

Beth Emery   beth.emery@mtsu.edu   898-2468   Council Member
Dr. Emery is professor of Human Sciences. For Women's and Gender Studies minors, she teaches CDFS 4340 The Contemporary Family, and CDFS 4140 Violence in the Family.

Tricia M. Farwell   tricia.farwell@mtsu.edu   898-2987
Dr. Farwell is associate professor of advertising. For Women's and Gender Studies minors, she teaches ADV 3060 Sexuality and Gender in Advertising.

Ida Fadzillah Leggett   ida.fadzillah@mtsu.edu   904-8275   Council Member
Dr. Fadzillah is associate professor for Sociology and Anthropology. For Women's and Gender Studies minors, she teaches ANTH 3750 Race, Class, and Gender.

Katherine Foss   katie.foss@mtsu.edu   898-7747   Council Member
Dr. Foss is associate professor of Journalism.  

Jenna Gray-Hildenbrand  Jenna.Gray-Hildenbrand@mtsu.edu    898-2785
Dr. Gray-Hildenbrand is assistant professor of Philosophy. For Women's and Gender Studies minors, she teaches WGST 4201 Women and Religion.

Gloria Hamilton   gloria.hamito@mtsu.edu   898-5745
Dr. Hamilton is professor of Psychology.   

Sonja Hedgepeth   sonja.hedgepeth@mtsu.edu   898-2280
Dr. Hedgepeth is professor of Foreign Languages and Literatures. For Women's and Gender Studies minors, she teaches WGST 4206 Women and the Holocaust.

Elyce Rae Helford   elyce.helford@mtsu.edu   898-5961   Council Member
Elyce Rae Helford, PhD, is former director of Women's Studies (2000-2008) and professor of English (since 1992). For the minor, she teaches WGST 2100 WGST 3500, ENGL 3880, and ENGL 3885 for the gender studies track. In the past, she has also taught ENGL 3730. Dr. Helford's research, like her teaching, centers in gender and cultural studies, with emphasis on gender representation in 20th-century American literature, television, and film.

Mary Hoffschwelle   mary.hoffschwelle@mtsu.edu   898-5806   Council Member
Dr. Hoffschwelle is professor of History.

Marion Hollings   marion.hollings@mtsu.edu   898-2713   Council Member
Dr Hollings is professor of English. For Women's and Gender Studies minors, she teaches WGST 2100 Introduction to Women's Studies, WGST 4202 Lesbian Studies, and ENGL 3720 Early Women Writers.

Judith Iriarte-Gross   jutith.iriarte-gross@mtsu.edu   904-8253   Council Member
Dr. Iriarte-Gross is professor of Chemistry and director of the MTSU Women in STEM Center (Midgett 106, 494-7763). For Women's and Gender Studies minors, she teaches WGST 4205 Women and Science.

Newtona (Tina) Johnson   nt.johnson@mtsu.edu   898-2705   Council Member
Dr. Johnson is Director, Women's and Gender Studies and professor of English. For Women's and Gender Studies minors she teaches WGST 2100 Introduction to Women's Studies, ENGL 3735 Black Women as Writers.

Amy Kaufman    a.kaufman@mtsu.edu   898-2705   Council Member
Dr. Kaufman is associate professor of English.

Rebecca B. King   rebecca.king@mtsu.edu   898-5771   Council Member
Dr. King is associate professor of English. Within the Women's and Gender Studies department she teaches WGST 2100 Introduction to Women's Studies, and WGST 4500 Feminist Theory. She also teaches ENGL 3725 Nineteenth-Century Women Writers. She approaches Women's and Gender Studies from a cultural studies perspective, particularly in terms of norms constructed by capitalism and its supporting ideology of liberalism.

Justyna Kostkowska   justyna.kostkowska@mtsu.edu   898-2778    Council Member
Dr. Kostkowska is associate professor of English. For Women's and Gender Studies minors she teaches ENGL 2020 Themes in Literature & Culture: Women Writers in Search of Expression.

Jessica Kratzer    jessica.kratzer@mtsu.edu        904-8033    Council Member
Dr. Kratzer is assistant professor  in Speech and Theatre.

Jid Lee   jid.lee@mtsu.edu   898-2657   Council Member
Dr. Lee is associate professor of English. Her research addresses representations of gender and racial identity in Asian/Asian American women's writing. For Women's and Gender Studies minors, she teaches ENGL 3730 Women Writers of the Twentieth Century.

Vicky MacLean   vicky.maclean@mtsu.edu   898-2692   Council Member

Dr. MacLean is professor of Sociology. For Women's and Gender Studies minors, she teaches SOC 4150 Topics in Sociology (Race, Ethnicity, Class and Gender) and SOC 4361 Contemporary Issues in Women's Health.

Mary Magada-Ward    mary.magada-ward@mtsu.edu   898-5174
Dr. Magada-Ward is professor of Philosophy. For Women's and Gender Studies minors, she teaches PHIL 4800 Feminist Epistemology, and WGST 4500 Feminist Theory.

Jenny Marchant   jennifer.marchant@mtsu.edu   898-2721   Council Member

Dr. Marchant is associate professor of English.

Janet McCormick   janet.mccormick@mtsu.edu   904-8208   Council Member
Dr. McCormick is assistant professor in Speech and Theatre. For Women's and Gender Studies minors, she teaches COMM 3225 Gender Communication.

Sandra Neal   sandy.neal@mtsu.edu   898-2567
Dr. Neal is professor of Health Education and Promotion. For Women's and Gender Studies minors, she teaches HLTH 4390 Women's Health (Distance Learning).

Mischa Renfroe   mischa.renfroe@mtsu.edu   904-8407   Council Member
Dr. Renfroe is associate professor of English. She teaches WGST 2100 Introduction to Women's Studies.

Marisa Richmond   mrichmon@mtsu.edu     

Dr. Richmond is Assistant Professor of History. For Women's and Gender Studies minors, she teaches WGST 3030 Topics in Sexuality.

Steve Robertson   sroberts@mtsu.edu   898-2708
Steve Robertson is instructor of Political Science. For Women's and Gender Studies minors, he teaches PS 3010 Women and the Law and PS 4260 The Political Status of Women in the World.

Nancy Rupprecht   nancy.rupprecht@mtsu.edu   898-2645   Council Member
Dr. Rupprecht is professor of History. For Women's and Gender Studies minors, she teaches WGST 4206 Women and the Holocaust, and HIST 1020 Survey Western Civilization II (Gynocentric History).

Linda Seward   linda.seward@mtsu.edu   904-8572   Dr. Seward is professor of Speech and Theatre. For Women's and Gender Studies minors, she teaches COMM 3225 Gender Communication.

Kathleen Therrien   kathleen.therrien@mtsu.edu   898-2579   Council Member
Dr. Therrien is associate professor of English. For Women's and Gender Studies minors she teaches ENGL 4950 Selected Topics in Contemporary Literature: Women's Popular Literature.

Gretchen Webber   gretchen.webber@mtsu.edu   898-2519
Dr. Webber is assistant professor of Sociology. Her areas of interest are Gender, Family, Intersection of Gender and Work, and Qualitative Methods. For Women's and Gender Studies minors, she teaches SOC 3400 Gender and Society (Distance Learning).

Laura White   Laura.White@mtsu.edu   904-8122   Council Member
Dr. White is assistant professor of English.

Lisa Williams   lisa.williams@mtsu.edu   898-7879
For Women's and Gender Studies minors, Ms. Williams teaches WGST 2100 Introduction to Women's Studies.

Jennifer Bailey Woodard     jennifer.woodard@mtsu.edu   898-2766   Council Member
Dr. Woodard is associate professor of Electronic Media Communication. For Women's and Gender Studies minors, she teaches Race and Gender in the Mass Media JOUR 4800 and WGST 3500 Women in the Media.