Meet the Staff

How is the Center Organized and Staffed?

The Center operates as a unit attached to the College of Education at Middle Tennessee State University. Direct oversight responsibility rests with the holder of the Murfree Chair of Excellence in Dyslexic Studies, an endowed Chair established by Katherine Davis Murfree in 1988.


Professional Staff

Chair of Excellence in Dyslexic Studies
Position currently vacant
Dr. Diane J.Sawyer retired in May 2010 after 20 years of dedication to MTSU, to the parents, children and educators of Tennessee, and to her quest to unravel the puzzle of dyslexia.

James L. (Jim) Herman, Ed. D.
James.Herman@mtsu.edu  
Director, Tennessee Center for Study & Treatment of Dyslexia  
Plans and guides the work of the Center for Dyslexia to achieve its goals and promotes the general growth and evolution of Center services. 

Debbie Bauder, M.Ed., CCC/SLP
Debbie.Bauder@mtsu.edu
Assistant Director for Education Services & Early Intervention
Oversees long-term progress of students in school-based programs; addresses early identification and intervention (children ages 5-8); provides consultation and teacher training; and engages in research.

Erin Alexander, Ed.S., NCSP
Erin.Alexander@mtsu.edu
Assistant Director for Clinical Services
Coordinator and overseer of assessment services; provides consultation and training services to school personnel; provides training and supervision for students in the School Psychology graduate program at MTSU; engages in research.

Melissa L. Brock, M.Ed.
Melissa.Brock@mtsu.edu
Assistant Director for Adolescent Services
Coordinator of adolescent literacy, provides professional development for teachers of grades PreK through 12, assesses students at all levels, consults with instructional coaches, and participates in research.


Support Staff

Sharon Farmer, B.S., CAP
Sharon.Farmer@mtsu.edu
Executive Aide
Chair of Excellence in Dyslexic Studies

Grace James, B.A., CAP
Grace.James@mtsu.edu
Secretary, Center for Dyslexia

Graduate Assistants, 2013-2014
  • Katie Lower
  • Katie Rowe
  • Lauren Standridge

Web/Technology Assistant - Anthony Mills
If you notice any issues with the Center for Dyslexia's website, please notify the web administrator.