Political Science


Click to see the "MTSU True Blue Preview."

 PS & IR Student Services Page 

PS & IR Student Services Portal

[information on: Advising, Academic Help Resources, Career and Jobs, Internship Opportunities, Study Abroad, Research Opportunities, Law Schools, Grad Schools, Getting Involved in the Community, Getting Involved on Campus]

Virtual Mentoring Program

Get advice from those who have come through the program before you!

They have all sat where you sit now..and survived. They have all VOLUNTEERED to serve as virtual mentors to our current students and would be more than happy to hear from you and offer professional or even personal advice.


Click Here

 The Department of Political Science at MTSU offers the Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) and Bachelor of Science (B.S.) degrees in Political Science with a General Focus or with a concentrations in Pre-Law, Public Administration, or Teaching Licensure; a Bachelor of Science (B.S) degree in International Relations; and a Master of Arts (M.A.) in International Affairs. Minors are offered in Political Science, International Relations, Public Administration, and Political and Civic Engagement. The Department also coordinates interdisciplinary minors in Urban Studies, Russian Studies, and African Studies.

Programs in Political Science prepare students for a wide range of careers in government, law, public service, public affairs, international affairs, non-governmental organizations, and education.The programs also help prepare students for more advanced degrees in the area. The faculty of the Department of Political Science is committed to excellence in teaching, scholarship and service, and providing you an excellent undergraduate education that combines the traditional classroom experience with applied and practical training, and experience through fieldwork, internships, and active student organizations. Click on FACULTY to explore the experience and expertise of our faculty. If you have any questions concerning our programs, please do not hesitate to contact me or the Executive Aide, Pam Davis.

Stephen Morris, Chair  

   Check out... College Game Project   |  The Political Science Major - Tips  | brief history of the Department



Congratulations to 2014
Student and Faculty
Award Recipients

Academic Awards
Samantha FARISH (Norman Parks Award)
Louis MARTINO (C.C. Sims Award)
Noah NEILSEN (John W. Burgess Award)
Whitney FLATT (Jack Justin Turner Award)
*   *   *
Meritorious Service Awards
Tyler SANDERS (Moot Court)
Samantha FARISH (Moot Court & Mock Trial)
Morgan MANSOURIAN (Mediation)
Joey MEYER (Model UN)
Whitney FLATT (Model UN)


College Advising Award


"Interns from MTSU Dive into Politics and Lend a Helping Hand"

story on MTSU interns

 Department Class Schedules for
Summer 2014  |    Fall 2014 (revised)

 Internship List of Opportunities 2014

 TWO New, Unique, Useful Courses for the SUMMER

PS 3170 Summer

PS 4390 Flyer

DR. SEKOU FRANKLIN received the John Pleas Faculty Award for 2014. This award is presented to a minority faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in teaching, research, and service. 

Sekou Franklin

 Newsletter Spring 2014

Page 1 Newsletter Spring 2014

 Dr. Karen Petersen has been appointed Associate Dean in the College of Liberal Arts. She has helped so many students in her years in the Department and will continue to do so from her  new post. She will also continue to teach at least one course for the Department in the future

. Petersen


 Senior Practitioner Inaugural Lecture
in International Affairs

"Conflict Prevention and Response after Iraq and Afghanistan"

Jason Lewis-Berry

Director of Overseas Operations, US Department of State Bureau of Conflict and Stabilization Operations

Tom Jackson Alumni Bldg.

Spring picnic

Japan Lecture