Board of Trustees

Due to coronavirus concerns, the Middle Tennessee State University Board of Trustees will hold its Tuesday, June 2, committee meetings via Zoom meeting. 

The meetings will begin at 9 a.m. and will proceed, with no or minimal breaks between meetings, in the order outlined below.

For agenda details,  go to the Board Committee meetings page. 

  • Academic Affairs, Student Life, & Athletics Committee
  • Audit & Compliance Committee
  • Finance & Personnel Committee 

All board and committee meetings are open to the public unless otherwise noted on agendas. 

About the Board

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of Middle Tennessee State University and is responsible for selecting and appointing the president; setting the operating budget; approving personnel appointments; granting all degrees awarded by the University, including honorary degrees; establishing tuition and fee rates; approving contracts; and approving all rules, regulations, curriculum changes, new programs and degrees of the University. 

The Board consists of 10 members, 8 of whom are appointed by the governor, by and with consent of the Tennessee General Assembly.  In addition, the Faculty Senate elects a faculty member to serve a two-year term, and the Student Government Association presents three students to the University President for review, and he will recommend one of the three to the Board for approval.  The student trustee is non-voting and serves a one-year term.  They hold regularly scheduled meetings four times a year, and additional meetings as needed. 

The Board of Trustees of Middle Tennessee State University was established pursuant to 2016’s FOCUS Act (2016 Tenn. Pub. Acts, ch. 869)

The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) letter approving MTSU’s change of governance.

Meet the Trustees