Middle Tennessee Forensic Science Society

The Middle Tennessee Forensic Science Society (MTFSS) was established to bring together students and faculty with an interest in forensic sciences. We welcome members from all majors. Currently, our membership consists of individuals with interests in biology, chemistry, anthropology, nursing, environmental science, criminal justice, and art. The organization provides its members with the opportunity to discuss current research in various fields of forensic science and encourages interdisciplinary research collaborations. Several members are currently conducting their own scientific research with forensic applications.


MTFSS also provides its members with opportunities for networking and professional development. As a co-sponsor of the William M. Bass Legends in Forensic Science Lecture Series, our members are able to attend small group discussions with internationally known experts such as forensic anthropologists, FBI criminal profilers, and medical examiners during their campus visits. Members are also encouraged to attend the American Academy of Forensic Sciences annual meeting where they can meet practicing professionals spanning eleven major sections of forensic science research. Financial assistance is often available for members attending meetings for research presentations.

MTFSS is a great way to meet others with an interest in forensic sciences, whether you are pursuing a career in forensics or just enjoy current research in the field. If you are interested in membership or would like more information, please contact us at fire@mtsu.edu.

Group at AAFS 

Several members of MTFSS traveled to Anaheim, CA in February to attend the American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS) annual meeting.

 Left to Right: Dr. Hugh Berryman, Ms. Mitzi Dunkley, Cole Buffalini, Anastasia Hanes, Joe Kindoll, Tabatha Wadford, Kacey Bowe, Sunny Lusins, Simon Pergande, Miquellie Bonner, Kylee Alvarez, Emma Kendall, Sophie McIntyre, Emma Lloyd, Dr. Tiffany Saul, Corey Jeffries


2020-2021 MTFSS Officers

President – Joe Kindoll

Vice President – Cole Buffalini

Secretary – Miquellie Bonner

Treasurer – Sophie McIntyre





Facebook Icon      Twitter Icon 

ADP Logo